rafael2_edited.jpg
edhaformation2.png

Rafael Smadja |  Hip-hop

Rafael discovers hip-hop dance in 1998. Travels and workshops with the pioneers of hip-hop dance constitute his first dance education. His rich career as an interpreter enriches and diversifies his movement. (Lene Boel-Danemark / Jann Gallois-France / Yann Marussich-Switzerland / Olé Khamchanla-France /…) In 2013, he founded cieTenseï, based in Ferney-Voltaire in France. In 2018, he founded the Champloo company based in Biel, Switzerland. The two structures allow him to create bridges crossing borders and aesthetics. 

In his multiple collaborations, he develops a particular taste for the object, the installation, the live music and the text. His pieces bear witness to this multidisciplinarity often inspired by an external constraint, an object, a text, a music.

As a teacher, Rafael has developed a pedagogy and transmission tools allowing him to address both novices and professionals of the movement. He has been collaborating for more than ten years with different artistic, educational and social structures. based in France and Switzerland.

Since 2009, Rafael Smadja has been organizing and programming a Hiphop culture festival, more broadly focused on dance for the last 5 editions (Step By Straight from 2009 to 2014, Les Hybrides Hiphopées from 2016 to today).

Rafael Smadja | Hip-Hop

Rafael découvre la danse hip-hop en 1998. Voyages et workshops auprès des pionniers de la danse hip-hop constituent sa première éducation dansée. Son riche parcours d’interprète enrichit et diversifie son mouvement. (Lene Boel-Danemark / Jann Gallois-France / Yann Marussich-Suisse / Olé Khamchanla-France / …) En 2013, il fonde la cieTenseï, basée à Ferney-Voltaire en France. En 2018, il fonde la compagnie Champloo basée à Bienne en Suisse. Les deux structures lui permettent de créer des ponts traversant les frontières et les esthétiques. 

Dans ses multiples collaborations, il développe un goût particulier pour l’objet, l’installation, la musique live et le texte. Ses pièces témoignent de cette pluridisciplinarité souvent inspirées par une contrainte extérieure, un objet, un texte, une musique.

En tant que pédagogue, Rafael a développé une pédagogie et des outils de transmission lui permettant de s’adresser autant aux novices qu’aux professionnels du mouvement. Il collabore depuis plus de dix ans avec différentes structures artistiques, scolaires et sociales. basées en France et en Suisse.

Depuis 2009, Rafael Smadja organise et programme un festival de la culture Hiphop, plus largement axé sur la danse depuis les 5 dernières éditions (Step By Straight de 2009 à 2014, Les Hybrides Hiphopées de 2016 à aujourd’hui).